Award Season ad infinitum

award-bannerDoes anyone remember a time when the televised award season consisted of the Academy Awards, Emmys, Tonys and Grammys? I guess the Golden Globes were around years ago too, I just don’t remember hearing much about them until more recently, but now it seems that there are multiple awards shows for every genre of entertainment, including a glut of music award shows. There are so many in fact that I feel the meaning of an award has become substantially diluted.

I know I’m being cynical because I think that most awards are political and done for boosting sales of either tickets, or nowadays downloads, but maybe I could forgive some of the blatant self-congratulation if they were at least a bit entertaining. It’s ironic to me that the businesses that are meant to captivate, enthrall and cheer their audiences can’t come up with a better way of being, well, entertaining!

Every year they try “new” and “better” ways to give out the awards, start off the show, and speed up the speeches, but I find myself watching the opening bits and then turning off the tube and keeping up with the results via the internet. Maybe I feel I’ve seen it all before or maybe because I’m sitting on my couch, arms crossed, thinking “I dare you to entertain me”,  I will always be left disappointed.

I do sound like an old curmudgeon, but I just can’t stop thinking about the mighty egos that think that we all want to see 5, count ’em 5, Country Music Award shows! Mighty proud of themselves ain’t they?! And I’m a country music lover, but how many times do we have to see the same bands and singers recycle the same old songs? Get off my television and give someone new a chance dang it!!

curmudgeon

Phew, ranting like that really takes it out of a person!

But, because I am an eternal optimist (not hardly!), I’ve already checked today’s Oscar nominations for Best Picture and figured out how many I still need to see before March 2nd (6) because maybe this year’s telecast will win me over!

Leave a Reply

