Tom Hanks as Walt Disney…mmmhm interesting…

I’m a huge lover of everything Disney related, I do the parks, I buy the t-shirts, watch all the movies, and admire the genius of Walt Disney immensely. I was a member of the Mickey Mouse Club in the early 60’s, and watched Wonderful World of Disney religiously on Sunday nights. I’ve drunk the kool-aid and I’m not ashamed to admit it, so when I saw the studio was filming a movie, “Saving Mr. Banks”, about the making of Mary Poppins I started stepping in time faster than you can say supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

But then I saw the trailer….

….Tom Hanks as Walt Disney isn’t really cutting it for me. Now don’t get me wrong, I like Hanks, and I’ve enjoyed many of his movies, but he just looks and sounds like Tom Hanks but with a penciled in mustache and a slight southern accent (not sure why he has an accent), but if I’m honest I can’t think of any of the current crop of actors trying to portray Walt Disney. So let’s hope I’m wrong, because this movie and story sound terrific, and the poster is pretty darn cute too!

Saving Mr. Banks Poster

Leave a Reply

