A “tropical” summer in Alaska

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn case you haven’t noticed global warming is causing havoc with the planet, and Alaska isn’t exempt from its effects. If you talk to anyone that’s lived here for a long time, they will tell you that this is the best summer they’ve ever experienced in Alaska. It’s sunny most days, the temperatures are soaring (mid-70’s ) and everyone is enjoying the beautiful outdoors. Usually when I’m visiting Alaska in the summer I always have a sweatshirt or light jacket handy, but this year I’ve even gone outside with shorts and a t-shirt~~a true sign of climate change if I’ve ever heard of one!

This beautiful weather has had another added benefit, it’s made this place even more gorgeous than it already is….of course ask me that the next time I’m here and there’s 4 feet of snow on the ground and I might be singin’ another tune!! In that case just remind me of what I’ve written here, so I can look back at these lovely pics!

IMG_0876

 

IMG_0889

3 thoughts on “A “tropical” summer in Alaska

Leave a Reply

