Women’s Prize for Fiction 2013

women's prize for fiction

This is one of my favorite book awards of the year! Formerly known as the Orange Prize for Fiction this international, women’s only literary prize always seems to have several books on the longlist that I have not only read, but that I’ve actually enjoyed and usually has one or two titles that I haven’t heard of but want to pounce on ASAP!

 
The Longlist for 2013, of the newly titled Women’s Prize for Fiction, was just announced with 20 pretty diverse novels, including Gillian Flynn’s mystery thriller, “Gone Girl”, the controversial “How Should a Person Be?” (is it really a novel since it’s part memoir?) by Sheila Heti, the ever present “Bring up the Bodies” by Hilary Mantel, and my personal favorite, “Where’d you go Bernadette?” by Maria Semple.
Womens-Prize-News-Item-v2
There are 8 Brits on the list and 7 Americans, so it’s not as as diverse in nationalities as it is in content, 6 first time authors (Bonnie Nadzam, Ros Barber, Shani Boianjiu, Francesca Segal and M L Steadman) and 2 previous winners (Barbara Kingsolver and Zadie Smith).
You can visit the Women’s Prize for Fiction website and get the complete list along with a brief synopsis and author bio.
I think the book I’m most excited to read is “The Marlowe Papers” completely written in verse and in the words of Christopher Marlowe, it sounds truly unique and fascinating. Of course I also want to read a few others! I hope I can get these all read before the short list is announced on April 16th!
4 thoughts on “Women’s Prize for Fiction 2013

      • I notice you’ve been on a roll so far this year, powering through the books, you are very brave to be considering the Marlowe book, I like Marguerita Engle’s prose in verse, but she writes for children 🙂

        I am happy to see Elif Shafak on the list, I have read two of her books this year (one a penguin short), her star is certainly rising and great to see a truly international writer joining the rest.

      • I have been a busy bee with my reading, but I’ve just hit a wall I’m afraid. Maybe the pile of books I’ve just take out at the library are intimidating me? I’m not sure how far I will get with the Marlowe book, as it is quite a big denser than I anticipated and a quick peek through has me a bit scared! I will have to try to get a copy of a book by Elif Shafak, I’ve have read any of her works. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

