Anglophile heaven thanks to ACORN tv!

I had never heard of the company ACORN until a few years ago when I was lucky enough to receive Christmas gifts, purchased from their catalogue, from two friends. I’m surprised I wasn’t aware of them before that because I love, love, love British television, and I’m a self-proclaimed anglophile, and ACORN sells lots of great dvd’s plus all kinds of quaint and quirky gifts. Sorry, I’m sounding a tad like a commercial!acorn tv

Just a bit ago I discovered something on their website that really got me excited, ACORN TV. Every month they have 18 British television shows available for viewing on this website. Of course there is an annual fee of $29.99 but they will give you a free 30 day trial which allows you to watch their current selections while you decide whether to sign up or not. It’s fantastic! That’s the option I’ve used…twice 🙂
I love it because I have been introduced to so many television shows I hadn’t known about before. I am very fortunate to belong to a library that has quite a few of these shows in their collection, so once I’ve watch the first episode on ACORN TV, I am then able to order the rest of the series through my library. It’s wonderful!

I have yet to purchase a membership, but maybe, just maybe. if a certain spouse of mine reads this he might get the HINT 🙂

Here are just a few of my favorite shows that I’ve discovered through ACORN (if I listed them all this would be my longest post ever!)

midsomer murders New Tricks Vera tv show

5 thoughts on “Anglophile heaven thanks to ACORN tv!

  1. Glad you like British TV. We often moan about it! I like ‘Vera’ – every detective should walk like she does! And as Midsomer has been around years it is the most dangerous village in England!

    • My group of friends and I really prefer British TV to what stuff we have on the air here. On my visits across the pond I’m always surprised which American shows are playing on your television sets! I think the whole population of Midsomer must have been wiped out by now 🙂 Do you know where Vera is filmed?

  2. Glad you like Acorn TV! I’m one of the lucky folks who gets to work there. I just wanted to let you know we have a $3/month option if you don’t want to commit to $30 up front – although we certainly hope your spouse gets the hint as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

