iPad iNsomnia

I never would have dreamed that I would be one of those people tethered to technology, but that is just what I’ve become. This has been especially true since I left my job a year ago to spend more time with my spouse in Alaska. There are a lot of hours in the day to fill when you aren’t working, only have a small black dog to attend to, and spend a considerably amount of time alone.  But you see I’m not truly alone because I have my books, my Kindle, my iPod and my iPad to keep me company. I seem to always have one of these things either in my hand, close at hand, or in my handbag. See, tethered!

insomnia

I’ve noticed some physical repercussions from my obsession. Eye strain is a big one, then there’s a bit of numbness in my hands if I’ve played a bit too much Angry Birds the day before, but the biggest thing I’ve noticed is insomnia.  At first I didn’t correlate the use of my iPad with my night time alertness, because I thought it was just something us middle-aged people acquired, kind of like wrinkles and aches and pains, but then someone mentioned the fact that the light from an iPad causes sleeplessness.  At first I was doubtful, but I decided to do a little experiment to see if it was true. I simply stopped using my iPad right before I went to bed. I should say it wasn’t simple in the least because I had gotten in the bad habit of shutting off my bedside lamp and either reading or playing games on my iPad before deciding to shut my eyes. But after a few nights with a good old-fashioned book instead of the iPad, I found myself drifting off to sleep effortless. It truly was amazing to find such a quick fix for my wakefulness! The hard part is not picking up that darn iPad right before bed!

Related article:

iPad could cause insomnia, researches say

4 thoughts on “iPad iNsomnia

  1. “You learn something every day” they say – that’s mine for today and its only 9 o’clock! I didn’t know about this but it does explain why I don’t sleep great some nights! Good to know not EVERYTHING is down to old age!!!

  2. I’m sure they’ll be fixing that light inhibiting melatonin factor in a future version of the iPad, we are the guinea pig generation after all. I read on the kindle which doesn’t keep me awake and right now am reading an old fashioned book, so no risk there, though the problem with old fashioned books in bed is more one of their sedative effect!! Just as annoying when I want to read. 🙂

    Love the cartoon 🙂

Leave a Reply

