Twas the season!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! I was lucky enough to be able to stay home and have the celebration come to me, which is always a win win in my opinion, but for a while at the beginning of the month it was a bit touch and go on whether I would be able to wave my magic Christmas wand (yes, I have one of those, don’t you know!) and get the house tinseled and sugar plumed in time for Santa’s visit on the 24th.

santa claus

I was not only suffering from extreme sciatica nerve pain that was making it difficult for me to walk, sit or stand (this doesn’t leave many options, does it?), but my unlucky number came up and I was assigned Federal Jury duty for the two weeks right before Christmas.

I don’t know if anyone else has ever been picked for Federal Jury duty, but it’s a lot different from getting picked for County Jury duty. For County duty you call the night before the day you are to report and either get a recording telling you to come in the next day to see if you’re needed on a jury, or the recording tells you that your off the hook and your done. Federal duty is a two-week commitment and, depending on where you live, a bit of a journey.

In my case I was assigned to the Federal Courthouse in Chicago, which is not the easiest place to get to by 8:30 AM during rush hour! For the two weeks of service, you are required to call every night to see if you are needed the next day. I can tell you that each night I made that phone call I was crossing my fingers and saying a little prayer hoping they wouldn’t need me, but of course I couldn’t be that lucky!  So, the very first day I had to take my gimpy, sciatica pained leg, on the train and wait with another 100 people to see if we would serve on a jury. That first day I was grouped with 19 people to be interviewed for a jury, but I wasn’t picked and I got to go home by 1:00 PM., and my luck continued to hold for the rest of that first week, as night after night I called in and was told I wasn’t needed for the next day.

But then Monday, December 17th came and I was again required to take the train into Chicago and await my fate in the jury room with my fellow lucky ducks. Something was a bit different this time though, as there were a lot less of us than the previous Monday, in fact when I counted there were only 27 people. Ruh Roh, it looked my odds of a Jury assignment had suddenly gotten a lot higher! First they called 20 names to head to the courtroom, of course one was mine, then came the interview by the judge, and then lastly the selection of the 10 jurors. I’m sure you’ve guessed by now, that I was picked. Oh lucky me!  One week before Christmas and chosen to serve on a Federal Jury, in downtown Chicago in the winter, with sciatic nerve pain!

"Gentlemen of the Jury, I have the painfu...

I was a bit nervous, because immediately after the jury was picked, we were sworn in, taken to our new “home” (a small jury room behind the courtroom), given a few instructions, then taken back to the courtroom and the case began! No time to catch your breath that’s for sure.  I don’t want to get into the particulars of the case, but we were informed that the trial wasn’t expected to go for more than three days, so even though I felt like I had lost control of my time, I was relieved that it was for just a short amount of time. I can’t even imagine getting assigned to a trial that lasts for weeks and weeks!

I was also blessed with a really nice group of fellow jurors. After three full days together (we were done by Wednesday afternoon), you get to know each other pretty darn well. We spent a lot of time waiting in our “home”, and since we couldn’t talk about the trial, we got to know a lot about each other. There were even a few promises of trying to ‘keep in touch’, I’m not sure if that will happen, but it just shows you that there is real bond formed when you experience jury duty together!

So, to make a long story longer, I did manage to survive Jury Duty with sciatica pain (which is almost gone thanks to physical therapy), get all my shopping, baking, wrapping and cooking done and best of all have my whole family here for Christmas!!

Here’s wishing you a Happy New Year!

2013

4 thoughts on “Twas the season!

  1. Oh, thanks for sharing, Tracy. Sorry about your suffering! Hopefully your number won’t come up again for a long time. Happy New Year. Love, Carol

  2. Wow, now that’s an alternative lead up to Christmas, I hope the pain stays away ad you doubly enjoy the pace and quiet of home after that busy commute, I imagine Christmas in the city to be quite exciting though, being part of the buzz for a short while.

  3. Thankfully the pain is staying away, and hopefully for good! It was very fun to get a chance to be in the city during the Christmas season, especially the afternoon after the trial was over. Chicago looks beautiful at Christmas (and the rest of the year too!).
    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

