Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2)Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I had this book sitting on my e-reader just waiting for me to dive in to it for-ever, but I kept putting it off because for one thing it was the second book in a trilogy (not always the greatest in my opinion) and secondly it was over 500 pages. Boy, was I silly to wait so long because this book was even better than the first book, ‘A Discovery of Witches’!

The story starts off right where we left off, our witch and vampire, Diana and Matthew have traveled through time and ended up in Woodstock, England circa 1590. Deborah Harkness is such an excellent writer that she is able to describe their tumble back in time and make you see how the old world must have appeared to first time visitor Diana. Her descriptions of the dwellings, customs, language and landscape make the reader feel as if they are back in time as well.
As a lover of history, I appreciate the research that the author has done so that a history lesson is weaved seamlessly into the story.
I love the brushes and interactions the characters have with notable names of the period, some of them familiar others not so much. Throughout my reading I’ve run to Google more than once to find out more about one of these real life characters!

The book wrapped up a few loose threads, but of course left the door open for the third novel, which I’m hoping comes out soon!
I highly recommend this series, even if you aren’t much of a fantasy reader.

5 thoughts on “Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

  1. I agreed. I loved both books and was surprised on how much I enjoyed the sequel to the Discovery of Witches. Wonder if she is planning the third? I can’t wait.

  2. Pingback: The third quarter (and a third) in books « Syllable in the City

Leave a Reply

