Bouquet List

The title of my post is really an homage to one of my favorite TV characters Hyacinth Bucket, but what I really want to talk about are Bucket Lists. Do you have one?

I never thought I did until that movie with Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson came out a few years ago. Before The Bucket List I had never even heard that term. I had a list of things in my head to do ‘someday’, but I’m pretty sure I never used the gloomy phrase ‘before I die’.

In 2003 the travel book, 1,000 Places to See before You Die by Patricia Shultz, was released and was so wildly popular that the Travel Channel created a television show based on it and a slew of copy cat books and websites have been created telling you other things you must read, watch and see before you kick the bucket. It’s exhausting just thinking of all the thousands of things I have yet to do as my ticker keeps ticking down!

But somehow the use of the phrase ‘Bucket List’ has crept into my vocabulary and I find myself, and notice others, using the phrase frequently. While I haven’t written a physical list of things I want to do before my demise, I do have some ideas percolating in my noggin.

And today, here in the great state of Alaska one of these percolating ideas is going to be ticked off my bouquet list…..

….stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Bouquet List

  1. Intriguing! I’ve wanted to write a bucket list for a few years – and like you have notions floating in dark recesses of my brain. But so far the only thing actually on my bucket list is to draw up a bucket list! You’ve inspired me to get started!

Leave a Reply

