I love a good bargain…whether I need it or not!

I am not a big shopper. Out of necessity I do so if forced, and being the mother of daughters I have endured many a marathon shopping day throughout the years, but usually I am just as happy doing my shopping on the net. But, as with all things, there are a few exceptions to this rule. I do love those gift shops in museums, stately homes and theme parks and, much to my family’s chagrin, I love going to flea markets, second-hand stores and used book shops.

I just love perusing shelves and tables full of used stuff and the monthly flea market in our area has an abundance of said stuff, or junk as some might call it. It never gets old spending several hours on a Sunday morning wandering the maze of booths looking for something that might strike my fancy and take the trip home with me. Of course I don’t NEED any of these things, but there is a lot to be said for the thrill of the chase!

Goodwill Industries

I also take the occasional trip to our local Goodwill Store where I have discovered some really great finds. Three years ago I found a brand new Pacific Trail coat with a warm fleece lining for the low, low price of $3.99. I love that coat! Just the other day I found a black, leather Coach purse for 9 bucks and I have friends that have found Waterford Crystal wine glasses for .99¢. There are definitely bargains to be found!

A couple of years ago I came across Goodwill’s shopping website, Shopgoodwill.com. This is a great place to find bargains on all kinds of items without ever leaving the comfort of your couch. Well organized in categories, this site is set up auction style and features items donated to Goodwill stores all across the country. I’ve won a few book auctions (of course!), but haven’t bid on anything else, although there is a lot of nice jewelry that looks very tempting!

But the biggest find I have ever snagged were these loverly books:

A complete collection of Edward Gibbon’s, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire! These books published in 1797 were being sold at a garage sale in my neighborhood~~well actually there were in a tattered cardboard box thrown higgly piggly under a table. My book radar zoned in on that box and my palms got a bit sweaty when I saw that complete set of 12 ancient books. I got up the nerve to ask the seller how much she wanted for them, thinking that the $20 bill in my pocket was not enough to cover even one of them, and was shocked at her response, “Those old things? How about .50¢ a piece?”. Holy lovely, old, smelly books Batman, are you kidding me?!!!! I was on those books like white on rice 🙂
Truth be told I first asked her if she was sure about that price because in my estimation they were priceless, but she was positive that she was charging me a fair amount, so I forked over the 6 bucks and scurried out of there before she changed her mind!

Of course these books are far from being in perfect condition as most of the covers are detached, but to me they are my very own Holy Grail, and I feel like I saved them from a certain death. Just call me bookishly weird, but it’s the truth!

As hobbies go this bargain hunting is a fairly inexpensive one….of course I might change my thoughts on that the next time we pack up the house to move and it takes two semi’s and 6 guys to haul all my bargains!

4 thoughts on “I love a good bargain…whether I need it or not!

  1. Great stories – especially the last. I love bargain hunting too, my best score being a pair of sunglasses at Nordstrom Rack. They are some sort of fancy, expensive brand (Valentino maybe? I don’t care about designer brands at all…) that were originally $300, down to $130 at NR, on clearance for $27, and when I took them to the cash register they rang up for $0.01. I’m not kidding – one single penny. It turns out they were supposed to have been pulled from the floor to send to another store, and when that happens to a product they change all the prices to one cent automatically – and I just had luckily found a pair that had been overlooked in the pull. They actually let me buy them and take them home for a penny!

  2. Reblogged this on LE ARTISTE BOOTS and commented:
    I could have written this post except the books were the Brittanica Encyclopedia 14 th edition. Soft Red leather bindings. Gold edged pages. Pristine condition.

    Resold to make a ine Christmas for the children. Great find of yours.

Leave a Reply

