Biblioburro

Taos County, New Mexico. Children line up for ...

When I was a little kid I LOVED bookmobile day. It didn’t come around nearly enough for me (probably once a month), which is probably why I was shaking with anticipation while I was waiting for the truck to pull into the church parking lot by our house. I can still remember holding my mom’s hand while I struggled to climb those ginormous steps up into that sweet smelling book Shangri-La. It was heaven, and usually hot and crowded too because of course there were quite a few of us practically wetting our pants with excitement!

The librarian, would let each of us check out 5 books. I would carefully pick out my selections, then take them to where she sat on a wooden stool next to a small countertop and wait while she stamped the due date cards one by one and placed them in my books.  When I got a bit older our small town finally got a tiny library and then we were no longer on the bookmobile route. It was a good thing, but I sure missed the mobile library a lot!

The Biblioburro in La Gloria, Columbia serves that same function, and watching this video shows me that these children are just as excited to see their mobile library as I was to see mine!

It is truly inspiring to see what grade school teacher Luis Soriano has done to spread the joy of reading among his neighbors!

One thought on “Biblioburro

  1. Pingback: Bibliomobile | Travel Between The Pages

Leave a Reply

