Underground New York Public Library

Underground New York Public Library

"The Art of Loving," by Erich Fromm

I just found this totally innovative bookish website today and I love it!  Created by photographer Ourit Ben-Haim,  she describes Underground New York Public Library this way:

The Underground New York Public Library is a visual library featuring the Reading-Riders of the NYC subways. This library freely lends out a reminder that we’re capable of traveling to great depths within ourselves and as a whole.

I’m Ourit. This is my current photography project. I’m fascinated by how we apply ourselves to stories and discourse. In so doing, we shape who we understand ourselves to be.
I’m just pleased to see that she is able to find so many riders reading the real McCoy and it gives me hope that e-readers haven’t taken over the world!
2 thoughts on “Underground New York Public Library

  1. Heartening to know there are many holding out against the e-reader. Dont know if similar project ever been done on London Underground but I’d say from what I see on the Tube, there are still plenty of us reading books here in London too!!!

    • The place I’ve noticed a big increase in e-readers air travel. I’m guilty of this myself! I have to admit it’s so much easier packing one slim, e-reader instead of the 4-5 books I would usually pack. Of course, I then have much more room in my suitcase for the books I’ve purchased on my trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

