Paper Passion

Even though I own an e-reader it will never be able to replace the feel of a book in my hands. The weight and heft, the way I like to fan the pages while I read and especially the unique smell of the old books I love so much.

But thanks to Berlin perfumer Geza Schoen and printer Gerhard Steidl we have a very unique way to make our e-readers seem a bit more book like, PAPER PASSION perfume!

The packaging, a book with a hollowed out center, was designed by Karl Lagarfeld and Steidl. Lagarfeld, it turns out, is passionately bookish, as can be attested to by the large amount of pulp in his office. Wow, that’s a lot of books!

The smell of a freshly printed book is the best smell in the world.”

Karl Lagerfeld

At $115 a bottle I know I will never buy myself any, but I sure would love to get a whiff of that scent. Or I could just stroll over to the bookshelf and crack open a book!

3 thoughts on “Paper Passion

  1. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who loves the smell of books – like you it’s one of the reasons the Kindle won’t ever replace books for me. But I won’t be buying this at that price either – I’ll just rub an old book under my nose!

Leave a Reply

