I miss Harry

It’s been close to five years since the final installment in the Harry Potter series was released, two years since my visit to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando and one year since part 2 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out in theatres. I’m having serious withdrawal!

Hogwarts/Orlando style

Honeydukes!

But thanks to the upcoming release of J.K. Rowling’s new book, The Casual Vacancy, I feel like a little bit of the magic is still shimmering in the air. I’m almost as giddy in anticipation of possessing this book and turning that first page as I was with the release of each new HP book.

I will never forget the feeling my daughters and I felt when the release date was upon us and the UPS driver ran up to the door with our new book(s).  I must confess here that with the last few books we ordered two copies because we just couldn’t wait~~ the height of decadence!

Harry Potter was (and is) a phenomenon, and whether the world-wide excitement can ever be duplicated again is suspect. To be part of something fun and positive that can be shared with numerous people around the world is entirely unique. The only other time I can remember that happening in my lifetime was when the movie Titanic came out and movie theaters were sold out for weeks.

So I raise my glass of Butterbeer to you J.K. Rowling, in anticipation of another magical read from your pen, and also because I just LOVE Butterbeer!

Butterbeer recipe

Leave a Reply

