Probably not the best idea when you’re on a diet!

Today as I pack for my trip to Washington DC, I am enduring one more day of hard-core dieting because I know once I’m away from home, in a city filled with the some of the most delicious food I’ve ever tasted, I will not deny myself some extra calories!  In fact I’m happy to say I am only a few pounds shy of my wedding day goal, and with six weeks to go, I’m just hoping I haven’t peaked too early 🙂

So maybe, because I know I’m approaching the finish line, I let my fingers do the walking on the keyboard today, and I’ve discovered a few terrific food websites. To be honest most of the time when I’m looking for anything related to food on the internet, it has something to do with ordering a pizza, printing out a Living Social deal, or going on OpenTable to book a reservation, but today I think I just wanted to look at all the pretty pictures.

1. Serious Eats came to my attention because of this terrific looking recipe for Rummy Bears!

How amazing is this?! Not exactly food I know, but it did lead me to their website, which is overflowing with drool worthy photos and articles about all things yummy.

2.  Food 52 I found in a very circuitous way. Neatorama < BuzzFeed < Food 52!  And isn’t this why we all spend so much time on the internet??  BuzzFeed had this interesting article about ‘8 ways to eat well and cheaply‘, that showed Food52 as the byline. Okay I have now mentioned this website three times and I promise they are not paying me in alcohol soaked gummi bears! Anyway they have some interesting articles about food and some good looking recipes too.

3. The Pioneer Woman website is not new to me, I just haven’t looked at it for awhile because her recipes are anything but lo-cal!   Here in the States, Ree Drummond has published several books, has her own show on the Food Network and also publishes this blog and website. Her recipes are simple, delicious and made from fresh ingredients. Even I can make something great for dinner when I follow her step by step directions. Each step is photographed and she tells it like it is even when she makes a mistake! Her sense of humor shines through on the page and she makes cooking seem like fun.

Well, I think I’ve tortured myself enough for one day. First I find all these forbidden delights on the internet and then I relive the experience by writing about them on this blog!

Founding Farmers here I come!

Leave a Reply

