Observations of a hungry dieter

English: cooked red quinoa

As you know I’m dieting, safely, but madly to fit in my MOB dress in July. I think this is the most dedicated weight loss regimen I have ever been on. I’ve stuck with it even though I know there is a half-gallon of my favorite ice cream, unopened, in the frig and no husband home to notice if I’ve snuck a spoonful or 3 or 4.

And thankfully the weight is coming off slowly but surely. Tonight while Jasmine and I were walking for the fourth time today, to stave off my hunger pains, I made a few observations about my diet and its idiosyncrasies:

  • The more weight I lose the bigger my shoes have become but not so much the clothes.
  • I eat foods that I used to think were meant for horses~~oats & barley.
  • I have to go to bed before 10 pm because the food commercials make me so hungry.
  • I almost ate one of Jasmine’s dog treats the other day it smelled so appetizing.
  • I’ve started eating foods that I can’t spell or pronounce~~quinoa.
  • I’ve fallen off the wagon and I am drinking way too much coffee.
  • I order the diet plate when I lunch with friends.
  • and I’ve actually taken the lid off of the peanut butter jar just to sniff its luscious deliciousness.
Okay, now I have to go to bed because just typing the words, ice cream, peanut butter and even barley, have made me so incredibly hungry that I’m about ready to arm wrestle Jasmine for her Pup-peroni!
8 thoughts on “Observations of a hungry dieter

  1. I feel your pain. Well done though – it will be worth it. I am a serial dieter. Between Sept 2009 and May last year I lost 8 stone (112lbs) – and I know all about eating new and strange foods. I still don’t allow myself lots of foods I used to eat (ideally I want to lose another 7-10 lbs but it aint happening). Only yesterday I was munching down on rice cakes – thinking “mmm these are yummy” are rice cakes yummy? or have my tate buds gone mad?

    • Congrats on your amazing accomplishment! I remember trying to eat those rice cakes years back while on another quest to lose weight. I felt like I was eating cardboard. Your taste buds would go crazy if you ate a piece of chocolate cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

