Fellow blogger Nook’d!

I came across the funniest story on Neatorama this morning about a certain e-reader sold by Barnes & Noble. Apparently Phillip, from the blog Ocracoke Island Journal, was reading War and Peace on his device and began to discover something very odd about the text:

As I was reading, I came across this sentence: “It was as if a light had been Nookd in a carved and painted lantern….” Thinking this was simply a glitch in the software, I ignored the intrusive word and continued reading. Some pages later I encountered the rogue word again. With my third encounter I decided to retrieve my hard cover book and find the original (well, the translated) text.

For the sentence above I discovered this genuine translation: “It was as if a light had been kindled in a carved and painted lantern….”

Someone at Barnes and Noble (a twenty year old employee? or maybe the CEO?) had substituted every incidence of “kindled” with “Nookd!”

Pretty funny, huh?!  Here’s the link to the post if your interesting in reading it in it’s entirety :

http://villagecraftsmen.blogspot.com/2012/05/nookd.html

One thought on “Fellow blogger Nook’d!

Leave a Reply

