How a sales clerk pushed me (more like shoved me) into losing weight!

It’s sad but true that becoming a little bit older puts a few pounds on a person. Well, this person at least! It also doesn’t help that when I’m stressed, sad or bored I tend to grab the first edible thing in sight….chips, candy, ice cream…well, you get the picture.  I guess you could make the argument that if I stocked my cupboards with carrot sticks, apples, oranges and other healthy stuff, instead of the aforementioned delectables, that what I grabbed would be good for me instead of fattening. But I would counter with….what’s the fun in that! This is why weight loss is challenging, right!

Let me say up front that I am not much of a dieter. I’m the kind of person that knows that if I just cut out the late night eating, the sweets and bread (no, not sweetbreads, ewww!) that I will inevitably lose a few pounds. I know all my bad habits, I just don’t know how to stop them! Getting motivated is so very difficult, isn’t it?

Lucky for me I finally have found my motivation! I am a soon to be MOB (mother of the bride) and I need to fit into this cute little (well really medium-sized) number I bought and not look like I’m the pregnant MOB!

It’s highly motivating when a sales clerk is selling you a dress and she offers you a modern-day girdle (SPANKS), and at the same time looks at your middle and says, “this will help with that”! O-M-G am I really that F-A-T!

So for the last two weeks, I have been trying to be good. I have no sugar in the house, and no chips. I bought some rolls and ate three of them until I realized that the total of those three constituted my calorie allowance for the day, so I threw the rest out. But most importantly I started running again. Not very far and most definitely not very fast, but just enough to wear myself out so much that I’m too tired to dig through the pantry for old Halloween and Valentine candy!

So at my weigh in today on my Wii fit I found I had lost 3 pounds!

I was so proud of myself that I promptly went out and celebrated with a scoop of ice cream in a waffle cone 🙂

Sometimes a MOB just can’t help herself!

7 thoughts on “How a sales clerk pushed me (more like shoved me) into losing weight!

  1. I like it! I think it’s the bready stuff for me – I better look into the calorie counts on breads – because actually, I eat rather healthily and exercise quite alot too
    …wish I could lose three!

  2. Firstly good luck with the running, diet and MOB prep! Secondly thank you for the inspiration – after reading this I dug out my shorts and running shoes for the first time in years! I didn’t put them on mind, nor did I run anywhere but it was kind of comforting to know I’ve still got running shorts! Next week if I’m still inspired I might try them on and after that who knows!!!

Leave a Reply

