Our anniversary a date to remember

Today, April 20th is our wedding anniversary. We chose this date for its cooler weather, it’s springtime flowers and to be honest the availability of the church. But over the years this date has taken on new meaning as several senseless tragedies have taken place either on or near it.

April 19, 1993 ~~ The FBI’s siege of the Branch Davidian in Waco, Texas

April 19, 1995 ~~ Oklahoma City Bombing

April 20, 1999 ~~ Columbine shooting

It’s also a date that has significance in the past ~~

it marks the birthdate of Adolf Hitler in 1885

and the Bay of Pigs Invasion in 1961

and present~~

420 National Weed Day

I feel like a real Debbie Downer bringing up the correlation between my wedding anniversary and these significant events in history but I do think about it every year when I’m celebrating and others must be reflecting upon their loses.

Unknown Syringa vulgaris white flowers and bud...

But of course I’m also reflecting on how lucky I am to be celebrating another year of marriage to Nanook of the North. Happy Anniversary Nanook!

http://coedmagazine.com/2012/04/20/adolf-hitlers-birthday-and-4-other-historical-420-buzzkills/#photo=1

http://articles.cnn.com/2011-04-19/us/april.attacks.conspiracy_1_waco-compound-branch-davidian-conspiracy-theories?_s=PM:US

http://voices.yahoo.com/april-bloody-april-waco-tragedy-oklahoma-city-bombing-309614.html?cat=7

11 thoughts on “Our anniversary a date to remember

  1. Congratulations! I am sure there are just as many wonderful events including yours that also occured on that day, but they don’t make the first pages of the newspapers or the news headlines.
    Apparently the first detective story was published on this day in 1841 – ok the subject a bit gruesome, Poe’s “Murders in Rue Morgue” but that’s an interesting reading fact to remember. Next question, have you read the book?

    • Thanks for the congratulations! I agree there are many good things that have happened on or near that date as well, thank goodness!
      I did read “Murders in the Rue Morgue” many years ago. I am quite a big fan of Poe and really need to go back and reread some of his works. It’s been a very long time!

  2. Happy Anniversary! I can’t help but comment on your reference to ‘Nanook Of The North!’. I’d always assumed this was a Scottish – ism! It was commonly used to describe anyone who was wearing a lot of clothes on a wet freezing day – and we got a lot of those in Glasgow!! You’ve made me realise it’s less colloquial than I thought!!!

    • That is too funny! This is an expression I’ve known all my life and I’m not sure where I picked it up from but most likely my mom and dad. I always used it with the same meaning as you mentioned…someone (usually me) dressed in a lot of winter gear, ready to go outside and battle the elements. It took on new meaning when my spouse start working in Alaska and I gave him this new moniker!

Leave a Reply

