Walking is so amoosing!

Last night I was walking with my constant companion, Jasmine, when we witnessed something so endearing. A little boy was taking his first ride on his itty bitty bike without training wheels. His mom was beaming as he anxiously attempted the ride and showed off for us. Very sweet to be a witness to this “big” moment.

It made me think of all the many happenings that my dogs and I have witnessed over the years while we’ve taken our daily constitutional.

Holly, Tulip, Jasmine and I were a well oiled machine when we walked around the neighborhood or at least I liked to think so. As I’ve noted in other posts I am not an outdoors woman so when my doggies and I were walking along one morning and saw a poor dirty looking pooch across the street pacing us, I felt so sorry for it. It looked so bedraggled and hungry I was hoping I would be able to get a look at its collar once we made it home and I could untangle myself from the three leashes in my hands.  But my dogs, being much brighter than I am, knew trouble when they saw it. They started panting, growling and acting so goofy, slow poke that I am, finally figured out what I was feeling sorry for was a coyote. I picked up Jasmine (the smallest dog) and started hauling some city girl booty with the other two limping along behind (they were 12 and 13 at the time) and we made it safely home none the worse for wear. But now I knew what a coyote looked like…a mangy dog!

When Holly was an old girl of 16, she Jasmine and I were walking very slowly through the neighborhood when I saw a sight that made me freeze in place and wonder if what I saw was for real. Tearing out from behind a house comes a red fox with a doe chasing it at full speed. They passed right beside the sidewalk we were standing on and then ran around the house to the backyard. I was gobsmacked and still in shock and waited a minute before deciding to proceed. When I returned home I googled what I saw and actually found several videos on YouTube showing something similar to what I’d witnessed. Just checking to make sure I wasn’t crazy!

I’ve found lots of stuff too, a woman’s work ID (she sent me a gift card as a reward), some guy’s whole work portfolio in a leather folder (he didn’t give me a gift card), a kid’s learner’s permit and a license plate (I called the police and they found the neighbor who it belonged to, the same one who lost the learner’s permit). I’ve seen the cops chasing and arresting some kid in our neighborhood. I watched while he went around one side of the house and the cops the other and they met in the middle…like a Keystone Kops moment!

And today in my neighborhood I saw a new “old” friend, Mildred the Moose! Jasmine and I were walking and I was talking on my cell phone when I saw her in a yard up ahead. I needed to walk past her to get home and I figured she was pretty well occupied with her breakfast to worry about little ‘ol us, but I was wrong. We slipped past her but then she started making her move, jumping over the fence in the yard she was dining in, and heading in our direction. I didn’t wait around to see what was up, I sped up the pokey little puppy and heading quickly towards our house. Jasmine, unobservant dog that she is, noticed nothing! I felt relieved when I finally got the key in the door and got inside.

I decided I wasn’t going to let Mildred get away without have her paparazzi moment, so I hopped in the car with my camera and went back to find her. No Mildred…I sadly headed home and guess what? Mildred really had followed us home! She was around the corner enjoying the breakfast buffet in my neck of the woods. Good old Mildred!

My nemesis, Mildred

she's just noticed her privacy has been invaded

she decides that breakfast is more important than evading the paparazzi

4 thoughts on “Walking is so amoosing!

  1. Do you know your neighbors well enough to ask about Mildred? I worry about you out there. I have to wonder, though if Jasmine feels Mildred is OK around people. Will still switch places.

    • I need to ask someone about how cautious I need to be around them. I was surprised how fast she moved when she want to…I wouldn’t outrun her that’s for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

