Time for a Dye Job!!

My Dad loved all holidays, but his two favorites were Halloween and Easter. I think it might have had to do with the fact that he had a giant sweet tooth, and candy does play just a slight part in these holidays, or it might have been that he loved seeing the joy on all the kids faces when they were getting those bags and baskets of candy. Of course Pop was always ready to take any unwanted confections off of your hands no matter how sour, chewy or sweet. He didn’t discriminate when it came to candy!

Whenever I think of Easter I remember dying Easter Eggs with my Dad and of course the annual hunt in our wooded backyard. My Mom and Dad, or should I say the Easter Bunny, always used real eggs for the hunt and one plastic GOLDEN EGG containing something special like a quarter (hey that was big a big deal back then!).  How I reconciled the fact that we dyed the eggs and the bunny hid them,  I don’t know, but I do remember I was a real believer ~~don’t tell, but part of me still is~~

The most amazing part of our hunt was the large quantity of eggs I found in our yard. It seemed like hundreds. I would find a bunch in my pretty little wicker basket using the age-old method of Mom telling me I was getting colder or getting warmer. My Mom loved this game and included, “your freezing”, “you’re burning up”, “you’re getting hotter”, your hands are turning to icicles”, so much fun!

It wasn’t until I was much older that my parents let me in on the secret of the dozens of eggs in our yard. See my Dad would keep sneaking eggs out of my basket and run around the yard, taking cover behind trees and re-hiding them over and over again. Lest you think I was a little tetched in the head, remember I was only a tiny tot and maybe slightly gullible.

I maintained the Easter Egg traditions with my kids and even though they are out of the nest I still have to color a few eggs every year as a tribute to my Pop and Mom.

Now if someone would just help me eat all this egg salad!

Happy Easter everyone!!

A Cute Little Bunny With Some Eggs

A Cute Little Bunny With Some Eggs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One thought on “Time for a Dye Job!!

  1. Pingback: Bunny Time… Yeah Not This Year | Abi At Play

Leave a Reply

