Opening Day~~Calico Joe by John Grisham

It’s Opening Day for my beloved Cleveland Indians, so I must review a baseball book to mark the occasion!

Just like a good baseball movie, I also love a good baseball book and John Grisham has given me one with his latest novel, Calico Joe. I knew it was only a matter of time before Grisham wrote a novel with a baseball theme because of his love of the game. He had aspirations of being a baseball player, but that dream fell short when he didn’t make his college team and those of us who love his novels are kind of glad he didn’t make it!

Calico Joe is the story of a baseball fanatic son, Paul Tracey, whose father Warren is a major league pitcher for the New York Mets. Seems ideal right? There’s a problem though because Warren is a big jerk, who is despised by his teammates and feared by his family. Warren won’t even have a catch with his son without his masochistic tendencies coming out. See he’s one of those pitchers that gets pleasure out of hitting a batter that crowds the plate and he is trying to teach his young son his idea of pitcher fundamentals. Not a nice guy!

Warren isn’t the type of dad that would take kindly to Paul admiring other baseball players, so Paul keeps scrapbooks on all his favorite players hidden in his room.  When young Joe Castle from Calico, Arkansas is called up to the show to play for the Chicago Cubs and becomes a rookie phenomenon, he is idolized by fans around the country including Paul Tracey. Naturally Paul has a scrapbook on Joe and naturally his father finds it. If you’re thinking this isn’t a good thing you’d be right!

With Joe breaking rookie records right and left, stadiums are selling out wherever he plays, baseball has never seen anything like him. So when the Mets host the Cubs in a sold out stadium, with Paul’s dad as the starting pitcher, you just know that Warren’s ego won’t be able to resist teaching a lesson to rookie Calico Joe.

This is a great book and one of Grisham’s best in my opinion.

12 thoughts on “Opening Day~~Calico Joe by John Grisham

  1. It’s not available until the 12th of April. How did you read it already? I have read everything Grisham has published (except the kids books), but I think I’ll wait for this one to be available in the library.

  2. I have read all of John Grisham’s books & loved all except Playing for Pizza. Courtroom novels are my thing and books on baseball, to me, are boring. I’ll wait to read his next novel unless the reviews on Calico Joe are over the top.

    • I know sports books aren’t for everyone, but this really is a great one. It’s one of his shorter novels if you decide to give it a whirl!

  3. I have always loved Grisham Walking a round with legal mind, I have not read this one, I do not know whether it is interesting, But i want to experience it. Because I just don’t Imagine him doing this.

  4. I like most of his books playing for pizza got me to try perino beer something I never try when we stop in Italy go figure

Leave a Reply

