Coffee and I have a love-hate relationship

A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto: Taso de...

cup of the real deal coffee

I love coffee but it doesn’t love me. I adore the aroma of coffee, the taste of coffee and cream in my coffee but I can no longer tolerate coffee, and this is very sad.

Ever since I was a little girl, sitting next to my coffee-loving mother, I have LOVED coffee. My mother had coffee with every meal, never water, just coffee. We would go to our favorite grown-up restaurant, Stouffer’s, and my mother would always order some extra cream just for me. The cream would arrive at the table in a small silver pitcher and my mother would graciously allow me to drink my fill of the cream. A taste sensation I can recall to this day. It was cold, and rich and decadent and such a delightful treat. I remember thinking I couldn’t wait to be able to have my own cup of coffee and put in my own delicious cream.

I had my first sips of coffee while in high school, but didn’t grow to appreciate its jolt and flavor until I was in college and pulling all-nighters with my fellow procrastinators. When I started working I always started my day with a cup of coffee, purchased at the little dive in the basement of my building. There were no large chains of coffee shops serving identical, over-priced beverages back then, so my morning coffee’s taste could range from deliciously smooth to muddy and sludgy depending on who made it and whether you were buying the dregs at the bottom of the pot. Of course it cost well under a buck and refills were free so what the heck.

But enough reminiscing about the good old days when I could enjoy a great cup of coffee, for those days are sadly gone.

I find I can no longer tolerate coffee. I’ve experimented with lighter and milder roasts, less chicory, more chicory, caffeinated and decaffeinated. I used to take a break from imbibing for a few weeks and then resume my daily habit. This seemed to work for a while but it appears I have played my last card, because even this no longer works.

But I haven’t given up hope just yet. While doing some research on why coffee hates me, I found  out that many organic groceries sell coffee alternatives. I found Teeccino Herbal Coffee today and I’m giving it a whirl.

Here’s the description from their website

 “Teeccino is a delicious blend of herbs, grains, fruits and nuts that are roasted and ground to brew and taste just like coffee.”

I have to say it is pretty darn good. They had this “tee-bag” form and then they also had some grounds that could be brewed. But I decided to start with the bags in case it wasn’t my cup of tea or coffee!

It actually tasted like coffee and tea put together~~if that’s even possible. It was very flavorful and smooth and I almost felt like I was enjoying a cup of coffee or maybe I just really, really want to believe! The only downside is the lack of any discernible aroma, but I think I can live with that for the time being.

So here’s mud in your eye, or at least a “French Roast Organic tee-bag, with deep coffee notes”!

Cup of Teeccino coffee alternative

3 thoughts on “Coffee and I have a love-hate relationship

  1. I wonder what it is about coffee, I remember when I spent a year studying aromatherapy and all the remedies for different ailments whether they were physical or psychological, they always suggested cutting out coffee, and by the end of that year it was almost like a mantra, though I never really understand the reason why, just that it’s not part of any solution toward equilibrium, that it is often part of the problem.
    Good luck with your alternative, it does seem like a much healthier option.

  2. Thanks for mentioning Teeccino in your post! 🙂 We’re glad you had a chance to try and enjoy it. If you’re looking for a stronger aroma, you may want to try some of our other flavors. Thanks again for sharing your experience!!

    Yours In Optimal Health,
    Danielle

Leave a Reply

