To review or not review, that is the question…

I’m a basically a blogging neophyte so I having a bit of a moral dilemma. Moral dilemma may be laying it on a little thick, but it’s a bit of a dilemma none the less!

What do I do when I read a book and I find it’s just okay?  Not horrible but nothing to write home about either. Do I review it anyway or do I just skip it and hope the next book is better? But then does that make me look like a blogger that “loves” everything and is afraid to say when a book just isn’t something I liked? Decisions, decisions…..

~~thoughts?

3 thoughts on “To review or not review, that is the question…

  1. This is not a dilemna, it is a challenge. I wondered about this and decided that because it seemed difficult it was a good challenge and also because remember, not everyone likes the same books as we do, and conversely, something I have experienced and found some wonder and joy in, is that some people will like a book and you write about that you didn’t even like particularly.

    Firstly, why did you read this book, was it a random book, one someone recommended, it’s always interesting to share how you ended up with this book, then what it is supposed to be about. I try to be as objective as possible, so that the whole review isn’t just opinion. A little extra time to reflect and a few notes while out abnd about, I find help too.

    If you want to read an example, there is a book called ‘The Forest for the Trees’ I reviewed on my blog, its the first book I reviewed that I didn’t like, I won’t say ‘negative review’ because that’s exactly what I wanted to avoid, it’s not necessary to be negative when pointing out things that don’t excite you. I don’t know if I succeeded, but it was a personal challenge and I had to laugh when someone said they didn’t usually read that kind of book but after reading the review thought they would – What? You see, just by describing the book, there are some to whom it may appeal.

    Sorry for the long speel, but I had this issue not long ago and if you decide to go that path, here’s one way to do it. Good luck.

    • Thanks so much for your insightful thoughts on my dilemma! You gave me some great advice on writing reviews on books, as well as anything else I choose to write about. It’s hard sometimes to be objective in my criticisms of books I don’t care for because I have a kind of knee-jerk reaction when I feel like I’ve just wasted my time on one book when there are so many good ones left to read! I find it easier to leave a negative review on Goodreads for some reason, but I feel I need to be more thoughtful on a blog post. I have also been fortunate to have read some terrific books since I began my blog in January, so I hadn’t really needed to think about writing up a review of a just so-so book. Thanks again for taking the time to respond. I truly appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: The Art of Review « The World Writ Small

Leave a Reply

