The Good Ol’ Days?

It was time to peruse my shelves tonight and when I did I found this little 32 page booklet stuffed between two novels. I had forgotten all about buying it umpteen years ago. But I know what must have drawn me to it ~~ this Gibson Girl on the cover.

It’s filled with songs like “Good-Night Ladies”, “Marching through Georgia, “America the Beautiful” and “Old Folks at Home”. I hate to admit it but I knew the tune to about half of these ditties!  And then there are the brief paragraphs on amusements–parlor games really. Things like the Five Senses Game, Charades and The Shopping List Game.

But to me the major amusements of this booklet are the drugstore ads sprinkled throughout. It looks like this booklet was published by S.C. Wells & Co., a manufacture of medicines and household chemicals, and then given out for free to advertise their products.  My copy was given out by Beane’s Drug Store of Gardiner, Maine, sometime at the turn of the century.

Coronet Headache Tablets, Shiloh Cough Syrup and Hammond’s Liniment the King of Cures all have small ads but the granddaddy of everything that ails you is a one all cure-all called CELERY KING. Every heard of it? Me neither!
Here are some of the things Celery King will cure ~~

“Are You Melancholy, Despondent?”     

“Poor Complexion?”     

“How is your Stomach?”    

But this full-page ad is the funniest. You just have to read it for yourself to appreciate it!

4 thoughts on “The Good Ol’ Days?

  1. Old ads are so interesting to read — the older, the better! I follow a really great tumblr called Questionable Advice where they collect odd bits from newspapers, books and magazines. Do you know what year this booklet is from?

    • Thanks for the tumblr. I will have to check that out! I couldn’t figure out anyway to date this booklet. I did a little research on the medicines and the the company doing the advertisements, but I didn’t have any luck pinpointing a date.

      • That’s too bad! I collect old magazines and pamphlets, so I was curious. Based on what my experience collecting, I’d definitely place it in the first decade of the 20th century. My oldest is from 1913.

      • I did a little more research this morning and now I think I can pinpoint the date to be between 1899-1903. I’ve found similar ads on news.google.com.

Leave a Reply

