Steampunk

I love the idea of Steampunk! When I was still working at the library I can remember the first time a book came in to be catalogued and it had a subject heading of Steampunk. We were all going, huh? what the heck is that. I think we all thought it was yet another “phase” and would soon die out. I honestly didn’t quite “get it”. But now I do and I think it is so cool.

I have to say I’m much more familiar with the jewelry and art that’s come out of Steampunk than I am with the literature. Etsy has some great Steampunk items on their site.  What also came to my mind, when I finally understood it a little more, were a couple of older TV shows that I watched when I was growing up…The Avengers and The Wild Wild West.  Both of these shows mixed a little bit of science fiction and fantasy. The Avengers was more of a spy/espionage show while The Wild Wild West was part western and part spy show. I loved them both!

When I think of Steampunk authors, Jules Verne and H.G. Wells  immediately jump to mind. To me they are the forerunners of modern-day Steampunk.  As far as contemporary fiction,  I have read a few stories out of an anthology simply called Steampunk by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer and I have another one called Extraordinary Engines: The Definitive Steampunk Anthology on by TBR list. I am most definitely not up on what is currently popular reading material.

But I do know one thing I love, the creativity that has sprung from this new genre! And I have even succumbed and purchased my own little piece of Steampunk ~~ this beautiful clockwork necklace.

2 thoughts on “Steampunk

    • Good question! I think it has something to do with the fact that it’s associated with Victorian era Science Fiction where most things were run on steam power. Sorry I don’t have a better answer for you!

Leave a Reply

