I have a confession to make

I have a confession to make….I am a bookaholic.  Books are strewn through all the rooms in our home, on shelves, in boxes, on the floor, in e-book form on my iPad and Kindle…it’s an addiction that I hope from which to never be cured!

Because of the volume of verbiage in my humble abode,  I don’t buy quite as many books as I once did, but this by no means has stopped the flow of new and used books from joining my personal depository.

One of my favorite places online to find a unique title is http://www.shopgoodwill.com/. This is Goodwill Industries‘ version of eBay. Goodwill stores from across the country put items of all description up for auction. I’ve bid on and won several treasures from their antique book section.

This is my latest find, The Congressional Club Cookbook

Even though I’m not the greatest cook in the world, I do enjoy finding unique and unusual cookbooks. I first saw The Congressional Club Cookbook when I was at The National Book Festival in Washington DC last year. The new copy is over $50 and that was just too pricey for me, besides it was a little too big to fit in my suitcase. So, when I saw this like-new 2005 edition on the Goodwill website I just had to bid on it. I was over the moon when I won it for just under $10!

It now has place of honor ~~ it’s on the top of a stack of really good, soon to be read finds!!

Ah, I just love my addiction!

3 thoughts on “I have a confession to make

  1. I feel your pain 🙂 I’ve avoided the Kindle trend though, but have such a hard time going into used book stores. Any book stores, for that matter…

  2. Sorry to feed your addiction, but since you have an e-reader, you should check out Project Gutenberg. They have something like 40,000 e-books (crazy!) that are all in the public domain, so they don’t cost a single cent. I’m a print loyalist and don’t think I could ever bring myself to use an e-reader, but if I did, that would be my favorite source haha.

    • I’m fairly new to e-book format and never thought I would go over to the dark side and own a kindle! Although nothing beats the feel of a book in my hands! I have seen Project Gutenberg. So many books so little time….

Leave a Reply

