Murder in Italy

Seeing the news today about Amanda Knox‘ $4,000,000 book deal reminded me of the book I had read last year about her incredible story, Murder in Italy. Amanda Knox is an American who was in Italy on a study abroad program back in 2007. Tragically her British roommate, Meredith Kercher, was found brutally murdered and Amanda was accused of the murder and sent to prison for 26 years. Just this past October the conviction was overturned and she was released after serving 4 years in prison.

I received Murder in Italy as a giveaway on Goodreads.com and really didn’t think much about it for a bit, until I realized I should read the darn thing to fulfill my obligation to review it.

Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. I had known a bit about Knox’s story from the newspapers and TV and in the flippant manner of someone who has no idea what she’s talking about, branded her guilty. But this book changed my mind. The research that the author, Candace Dempsey, put into this book was detailed and compelling. Dempsey really gives the reader a view of the proceedings that differed a great deal from what I thought had happened.  It’s heartbreaking what both Amanda’s and Meredith’s families went through during the ordeal.

As much I liked Dempsey’s book, I think the amount of Knox’ book deal is outrageous. No one’s story is worth that much.

4 thoughts on “Murder in Italy

  1. Douglas Preston and Mario Spezi in The Monster of Florence (2009) discuss extensively the prosecutors involved in the prosecution of Amanda Knox. They are really quite unbelievable: ethical violations and investigative “practices” that would never be tolerated in most western countries. Their zeal to solve the serial murders attributed to “the monster of Florence” has left Douglas Preston persona non grata in Italy. He dares not return to the country for fear of arrest. Despite requests from the U.S. State Department for assurance that he is not under indictment, the Italians refuse to respond one way or another. Between the revelations of Preston and Spezi and following the Knox trial, I am convinced Italy remains, vis justice, a third world country.

Leave a Reply

