The Women

Cover of "The Women (Keepcase)"

Witnessing how excited some people seem to be about a certain girl movie, featuring a wedding party that came out recently, has made me think how truly unfunny comedy is in the movies today and how I never thought women would have to lower themselves to the Adam Sandler level of comedy to get a movie made.

Back in the 30’s and 40’s and 50’s women ruled the movies. Actresses had great roles and great dialogue. They were the stars of the movies not just bit players.

One of my favorite movies is The Women made in 1939 (not that god-awful remake from 2008), written by Clare Booth Luce and starring Joan Crawford, Norma Shearer, Paulette Goddard and Rosalind Russell. Not one man was ever shown on the screen, it was only these fantastic actresses with those beautiful faces. 130 speaking parts and ALL women. The dialogue was snappy, the clothes by Adrian sumptuous and the women powerful and sexy. It is just phenomenal!

Cover of "Born Yesterday"

And comedic actresses….my favorite is Judy Holliday, a fantastic talent that tragically died way too young and has been somewhat forgotten. If you haven’t seen her in Born Yesterday, The Solid Gold Cadillac, or Bells are Ringing, then I hope you run right out and get them from your local library, or netflix or wherever you can find them! She is truly my favorite actress of all time. What a dame!

I don’t hold out any hope of Hollywood improving their material, but at least I always know I can watch all my old favorites in the comfort of my living room on DVD….

I leave you with my favorite scene from Born Yesterday, featuring Judy Holliday and Broderick Crawford.

6 thoughts on “The Women

  1. I still need to see Born Yesterday. It’s been on my “to watch” list for a while, but that list is miles long so I never seem to get to it. I’ll have to actively seek it out now that you’ve recommended it so highly! My library has a pretty great classic film collection, luckily. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you’re going to watch it! Hopefully you will like it as much as I do. I went to watch it this weekend and I realized my copy was on video tape and I no longer have a VCR…so I guess I need to get myself a copy on DVD !

      • I still have a VCR, but it recently ate my tape of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off so I’m wary of using it again. I own mostly DVDs, but I guess it’s come time for me to replace those last few VHS tapes!

  2. Totally agree the classics are the best!! One of my fav actresses is Audrey Hepburn. When I watched the movie “The Women” I was like “WOW, this is fantastic.” They don’t make movies like that any more, FOR SURE!!

Leave a Reply

